At a party at the French Embassy Residence on 20th February, Her Excellency the French Ambassador awarded the 2016 Champagne Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize to Christopher de Hamel, for his book Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts.

Artemis Cooper, chair of the judges, described this year’s shortlist as particularly strong: the shortlisters were Citizen Clem by John Bew, This Long Pursuit by Richard Holmes, The Return by Hisham Matar, and East West Street by Philippe Sands.  Among those toasting the winner with Pol Roger Brut Reserve were authors Anne Applebaum, Antony Beevor, Jung Chang, Anne Carr, Antonia Fraser, Colin Thubron,  Selina Hastings, John Bew, Richard Holmes and Philippe Sands; while other guests included Randolph Churchill, Bettina von Hase, Bettany Hughes, Rachel Johnson, Edward Fitzgerald, Robin Lane Fox, Anne McElvoy, Edward Lucas and Christina Odone, Hew Strachan, Jane Wellesley, and the Warden of New College, Miles Young.

In his speech of thanks, Christopher de Hamel told the audience that many medieval scribes ended the arduous business of copying a book with the words, “Explicit hoc totum, Pro christo, Da mihi potum“; which he translated as ‘Here ends the whole thing, For Christ’s sake, give me a drink’ – words that raised much laughter, and many flutes brimming with Pol Roger.

The Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize 2016
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.